What do the numbers on bottom of bottles indicate?

I recently came across another chain mail, about the numbers below plastic bottles we use. According to this mail, the number (generally within a triangle) written at the bottom, which ranges from one to seven, indicates how many times that particular plastic is recycled in reverse order. I dug a little deeper. Apparently, the number printed has nothing to do with the number of times plastic has been recycled.  It’s just the type of plastic which is used for that particular bottle. 5 is polypropylene and 1 is polyethlyene terephthalate etc etc.

One primary use of having the numbers if to help recyclers to sort into appropriate groups. In other words, identification number.

1 – PET, polyethlyene terephthalate
2 – HDPE, high-density polyethylene
3 – PVC, polyvinyl chloride
4 – LDPE, low-density polyethylene
5 – PP, polypropylene
6 – PS/PS-E, polystyrene / expanded polystyrene
7 – OTHER, resins or multi-materials

What do the numbers on bottom of bottles indicate?
What do the numbers on bottom of bottles indicate?

 

Here is copy paste of that mail

How to avoid:
Check on the bottom of the bottle there is a triangle sign and there will be a number on it. If the number is higher than or equal to 5 –> then this bottle is safe to use.
Whatever number under 5, will release the chemical. For most bottle water, the number is 1.
Did you know chemical released by plastic water bottles can cause cancer
(It is not the water that affecting you but the chemical releasing from the bottle)
Pass this to all your friends and also make them aware of it…

How to avoid:Check on the bottom of the bottle there is a triangle sign and there will be a number on it. If the number is higher than or equal to 5 –> then this bottle is safe to use.
Whatever number under 5, will release the chemical. For most bottle water, the number is 1.
Did you know chemical released by plastic water bottles can cause cancer

(It is not the water that affecting you but the chemical releasing from the bottle)

Pass this to all your friends and also make them aware of it…

104 thoughts on “What do the numbers on bottom of bottles indicate?

  1. Hi, I am Leticia a professional in content writing.
    I enjoy solving people’s problems and make them happy. That is what I have been doing for many years now.
    I have been writing since I was 12 years old and never knew it would turn out to be a full-time career. I have also been able to manage several assignments that involves writing. And I worked in three organizations as a volunteer to assist people.My passion has always been to help people succeed. And I go the extra mile to make that happen.
    I enjoy writing Thesis and have helped people from countries like UK.
    I work with a service provider whose mission is to provide quality papers and make people happy. In fact, many students come to me for help on a daily basis because they know I always deliver. And I will continue to provide nothing but quality to build trust like I have been doing for the past few years.
    Academic writer – Leticia Figueroa – iavs2012.org Company

    Like

Leave a comment