Was Gandhi not a suitable candidate!?!

I am asking this with Independence day hang over. What was the reason, again? for not honoring MK Gandhi with posthumous peace prize ? Of course, they have their defence, does not look convincing to me. It says

“Norwegian Nobel Committee decided to make no award that year on the grounds that “there was no suitable living candidate””

Is that a reason? Seriously ?

Any ways, I was browsing through Internet for Gandhi and I found this letter. I salute him.

My dear young Friend,

I like your frank and sincere letter for which I thank you.

You seem to have taken it for granted that I hate the British. What makes you think so? I have hundreds of friends among the British people. I cannot love the Mussalmans and for that matter the Hindus if I hate the British. My love is not an exclusive affair. If I hate the British today, I would have to hate the Mohammedans tomorrow and the Hindus the day after. But what I do detest is the system of government that the British have set up in my country. It has almost brought the economic and moral ruin of the people of India. But just as I love my wife and children, in spite of their faults which are many, I love also the British in spite of the bad system for which they have unfortunately made themselves responsible. That love which is blind is no love, that love which shuts its eyes to the faults of loved ones is partial and even dangerous. You must write again if this letter does not satisfy you.
Yours sincerely,

(Signed, ‘MKGandhi’)

Gandhi letter
Gandhi letter

7 thoughts on “Was Gandhi not a suitable candidate!?!

  1. divine…..love is neutral inside…natural outside….

    like Kabir…a great saint used to narrate….

    neither friendship with anybody…nor enemy to anybody..

    looks simple but ..is like walking on tight rope ….and

    which requires balance of body,mind,and soul…..

    what a great soul….Mahatama Gandhi….was.

    thanks for posting such valuable heritage of India…

    love all…

    Like

Leave a Reply

